Comédie française – Lucrezia Borgia, Victor Hugo

Friday November 30th, 3pm
Wednesday December 5th 7pm

An unhoped-for opportunity for those who missed the performances of this success at the TNM within the framework Montreal’s 375th anniversary celebrations. Elsa Lepoivre and Éric Ruf, also set designer, render the writings of Victor Hugo in a most grandiose manner.

The criminal, adulterous and incestuous Lucrezia Borgia seeks to escape from the evil that is her condition, to be recognised and loved by Gennaro, the child she had with her brother. During a ball in Venice, Gennaro, who has an aversion to the Borgias, courts a beautiful masked lady before discovering, to his horror, that it is Lucrezia. Stung by the affront of Gennaro’s friends who insult her, and suspected of adultery by her husband, Lucrezia sets a heartbreaking act of revenge in motion.

Rarely has a dramatic work gone so far in its depiction of maternal love. Lucrezia is a moral monster but this monster is a loving mother. Victor Hugo wrote this play to reveal the pearl at the heart of every monster.

IN PARTNERSHIP WITH
L’Institut français, France Inter


TEXT
Victor Hugo

STAGE DIRECTOR
Stéphane Braunschweig

CAST
With the actors of the troop of the Académie de la Comédie-Française

DURATION
2 h 25 approx

Back to the 2018-2019 season

Comédie française – Lucrezia Borgia, Victor Hugo

Vendredi 30 novembre 15h
Mercredi 5 décembre 19h

Une occasion inespérée de se reprendre pour ceux qui ont raté les représentations de ce succès critique au Théâtre du Nouveau Monde, dans le cadre des célébrations du 375e de Montréal. Elsa Lepoivre et Éric Ruf, également scénographe, portent les mots de Victor Hugo de façon grandiose.

Criminelle, adultère, incestueuse, Lucrèce Borgia veut s’arracher au mal qui est sa condition, se faire reconnaître et aimer de Gennaro, l’enfant qu’elle a eu avec son frère. Lors d’un bal à Venise, Gennaro courtise une belle masquée avant de découvrir avec horreur le visage de Lucrèce, lui qui a les Borgia en aversion. Piquée par l’affront des amis de Gennaro qui l’insultent, et soupçonnée d’adultère par son mari, Lucrèce enclenche une vengeance déchirante…

Rarement œuvre dramatique n’est allée aussi loin dans la mise en scène de l’amour maternel. Lucrèce est un monstre moral, mais ce monstre est une mère aimante. « Victor Hugo a écrit Lucrèce Borgia pour raconter la perle qu’il y a au fond de chaque monstre », nous rappelle Denis Podalydès.

EN PARTENARIAT AVEC
L’Institut français, France Inter

TEXTE
Victor Hugo

MISE EN SCÈNE
Denis Podalydès

DISTRIBUTION
Avec la Troupe et les comédiens de l’Académie de la Comédie-Française

DURÉE
2 h 25 environ

Retour à la saison 2018-2019