Comédie française – Britanicus, Racine

Friday October 19th, 3pm
Wednesday October 23rd 7pm

This is already the third run of performances at the Salle Richelieu, for this House of Cards of the XVIIth century. The typically Racinian immoralities, political manipulations and torments are all-the-more troubling in this contemporary setting evoking the closed spaces of our parliaments.

Synopsis: A web of intrigue between political figures where personal stories, love interests and family relationships intertwine, this tragedy is the tale of how Nero took power and then turned into a tyrant…

Presentation: With the play by Racine, master of classical tragedy, Stéphane Braunschweig revisits the past against the backdrop of the present: a honed eye reviews the reading of the texts so that we may hear them anew, absolute respect of the words and the author, vision of the environment where the word is deployed.

TEXT
Jean Racine

STAGE DIRECTOR
Stéphane Braunschweig

CAST
With the actors of the troop of the Académie de la Comédie-Française

DURATION
2 h approx

Back to the 2018-2019 season

Comédie française – Britanicus, Racine

Vendredi 19 octobre 15h
Mercredi 23 octobre 19h

Troisième cycle de représentations à la Salle Richelieu, déjà, pour ce House of Cards du XVIIe siècle. Les immoralités, les manipulations politiques et les tourments tout raciniens ébranlent dans cette scénographie contemporaine évoquant les espaces clos de nos parlements.

Synopsis : Véritable tissu d’intrigues entre professionnels de la politique où se mélangent histoires intimes, amoureuses et familiales, cette tragédie est le récit d’une prise de pouvoir et la métamorphose d’un homme, Néron, en tyran…

Présentation : Avec cette pièce de Racine, maître de la tragédie classique, Stéphane Braunschweig revisite le passé à l’aune du présent : regard affûté qui renouvelle la lecture des textes pour nous les faire réentendre, respect absolu des mots et de l’auteur, vision de l’espace où se déploie le verbe.

TEXTE
Jean Racine

MISE EN SCÈNE
Stéphane Braunschweig

DISTRIBUTION
Avec la Troupe et les comédiens de l’Académie de la Comédie-Française

DURÉE
2 h environ

Retour à la saison 2018-2019